Overview of Faroe Islands

  • 1829

Officially name: The Faroe Islands

Capital: Tórshavn

Largest city: Tórshavn

Official language: Faroese, Danish

Government: Parliamentary democracy within a constitutional monarchy

Tell your friends

The Faroe Islands are a subarctic island group situated between the Norwegian Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, approximately halfway between Great Britain and Iceland.


Total 1,399 km2 (180th)
Water (%) 0.5


2010 estimate 48,917 (205th)
Density 35/km2 (171st)
91/sq mi

Currency: Faroese króna (DKK)

Time zone

Summer (DST) EST (UTC+1)

Internet TLD: .fo

Calling code: 298