Administrative divisions

  • 1860

Bulgaria is a unitary state. Between 1987 and 1999 the administrative structure consisted of nine provinces (oblasti, singular oblast).

Tell your friends

In 1999, in parallel with the decentralization of the economic system, a new administrative structure was adopted. It includes 27 provinces and a metropolitan capital province (Sofia-Grad).

All areas take their names from their respective capital cities. The provinces subdivide into 264 municipalities.

Regional governors are named by the national Council of Ministers, providing for a highly centralized state.

Municipalities are run by mayors, who are elected to four-year terms, and by municipal councils, which are directly elected legislative bodies.

Subnational jurisdictions are heavily dependent on the central government for funding.

1.Blagoevgrad 2.Burgas

3.Dobrich 4.Gabrovo

5.Haskovo 6.Kardzhali

7.Kyustendil 8.Lovech

9.Montana 10.Pazardzhik

11.Pernik 12.Pleven

13.Plovdiv 14.Razgrad

15.Rousse 16.Shumen

17.Silistra 18.Sliven

19.Smolyan 20.Sofia Province

21.Stara Zagora 22.Targovishte

23.Varna 24.Veliko Tarnovo

25.Vidia 26.Vratsa