Overview of Algeria

  • 2543

Official name: Democratic Republic of Algeria

Algeria is bordered in the northeast by Tunisia, in the east by Libya, in the west by Morocco, in the southwest by Western Sahara, Mauritania, and Mali, in the southeast by Niger, and in the north by the Mediterranean Sea.

Tell your friends

Capital (and largest city): Algiers

Official language: Arabic

National languages: Tamazight

Government: Semi-presidential republic

- Total 2,381,741 km2 (11th)
919,595 sq mi
- Water (%) negligible

- 2014 estimate 38,700,000 (34th)
- 2013 census 37,900,000 
- Density 15.9/km2 (208th)
37.9/sq mi

Currency: Algerian dinar (DZD)

Time zone: CET (UTC+01)

Drives on the right

Internet TLD: .dz

Calling code: 213