Jamaican Cuisine

The original inhabitants of Jamaica before 1492 were actually a tribe of people called the Arawaks. These people grew foods such as callaloo, papayas that they called pawpaws, and guava.

Administrative divisions Jamaica

Administratively, Jamaica is divided into fourteen parishes. They are grouped into three historic counties, which have no administrative relevance. Every parish has a coast, none are landlocked.

The traditional county towns were Savanna-la-Mar for Cornwall County, Spanish Town for Middlesex County, and Kingston for Surrey County.

Photo Stream