Overview of the British Virgin Islands

  • 1238

The Virgin Islands, often called the British Virgin Islands (BVI), is a British overseas territory, located in the Caribbean to the east of Puerto Rico.

Capital: Road Town

Official language: English

Ethnic groups: 83.36% Afro-Caribbean, 7.28% White (mostly British and Portuguese), 5.38% Multiracial (mostly Puerto Rican), 3.14% East Indian, 0.84% Others

Demonym: Virgin Islander

Tell your friends

Government: British Overseas Territory
- Head of State Queen Elizabeth II
- Governor William Boyd McCleary
- Deputy Governor Vivian Inez Archibald
- Premier Ralph T. O'Neal

British Overseas Territory
- Separate 1960
- Autonomous territory 1967

- Total 153 km2 (216th)
- Water (%) 1.6

- 2005 census 27,000
- Density 260/km2 (68th)

Currency: U.S. dollar (USD)

Time zone: Q (UTC-4)
- Summer (DST) not observed (UTC-4)

Internet TLD: .vg

Calling code: +1-284