Overview of the Bahamas

  • 1551

The Bahamas, officially the Commonwealth of the Bahamas, is a country consisting of 29 islands, 661 cays, and 2,387 islets (rocks). It is located in the Atlantic Ocean north of Cuba and Hispaniola (Dominican Republic and Haiti), northwest of the Turks and Caicos Islands, and southeast of the United States (nearest to the state of Florida).

Capital and largest city: Nassau

Official language: English

Tell your friends

Recognised regional languages: Bahamian Creole

Ethnic groups: 85% Africans, 12% Europeans, 3% Asians

Government: Parliamentary democracy and Constitutional monarchy
- Monarch Queen Elizabeth II
- Governor-General Sir Arthur Foulkes
- Prime Minister Hubert Ingraham

Independence from the United Kingdom
- Self-governing 1865
- Full independence July 10, 1973

- Total 13,878 km2 (160th)
- Water (%) 28%

- 2009 estimate 330,000 (177th)
- 1990 census 254,685
- Density 23.27/km2 (181st)

Currency: Bahamian dollar (BSD)

Time zone: EST (UTC−5)

Drives on the left

Internet TLD: .bs

Calling code: +1-242