Overview of Hungary

  • 1676

Officially name: The Republic of Hungary

Capital: Budapest

Largest city: Budapest

Official language: Hungarian

Government: Parliamentary republic

Tell your friends

Hungary is a landlocked country in Central Europe. It is situated in the Pannonian Basin and it is bordered by Slovakia to the north, Ukraine and Romania to the east, Serbia and Croatia to the south, Slovenia to the southwest and Austria to the west.


Total 93,030 km2 (109th)
Water (%) 0.74


2011 estimate 9,982,000 (83rd)
Density 107.3/km2 (94th)
279.0/sq mi

Currency: Forint (HUF)

Time zone

Summer (DST) CEST (UTC+2)

Drives on the right

Internet TLD: .hu

Calling code: 36