Overview of Afghanistan

  • 2761

The Islamic Republic of Afghanistan is a landlocked and mountainous country in south-central Asia. It is bordered by Pakistan in the south and east, Iran in the west, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan in the north, and China in the far northeast.

Tell your friends

Officially name: The Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

Capital: Kabul

Largest city: Kabul

Official language: Pashto and Dari (Persian) 

Government: Islamic republic

Total 647,500 km2 (41st)
Water (%) negligible

2014 estimate 31,822,848 (40nd)
Density 43.5/km2 (150th)
111.8/sq mi

Currency: Afghani (AFN)

Time zone

D (UTC+4:30)

Drives on the right

Internet TLD: .af

Calling code: +93